Dedra Johnson’s debut novel, “Sandrina’s Letter to Tomorrow”, Attention New Orleanians! Go To This Reading!

November 5, 2007

Attention New Orleanians! Go To This Reading!

Originally uploaded by dsb nola

a brilliant debut album by Dedra Johson, published this November and now availiable in New Orleans, as well as on Amazon, to find her Amazon.com page, search “Dedra Johnson” Pulitzer Prize winner Robert Olen Butler has this to say about Dedra’s novel:

“Reading Dedra Johnson’s Sandrine’s Letter to Tomorrow, I was fully in the presence of the mind, heart, and soul of a richly rendered, fascinating fictional character. I knew I was also in the presence of the brilliant voice and sensibility of a major new American writer. This is an important novel by a true artist.”

Here’s the Amazon description: “Set in 1970s-era New Orleans, Sandrine’s Letter to Tomorrow is the disturbingly powerful and uplifting story of a young African American girl named Sandrine, whose only refuge against a world of poverty, racial discrimination, and parental abuse are the letters she writes to her dead grandmother. In the tradition of Toni Morrison’s The Bluest Eye and Alice Walker’s The Color Purple, Sandrine’s Letter to Tomorrow is a brilliant debut from an important new voice in African American fiction.”
support local artists and writers

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: